Comment définir l'espace de travail par défaut?


Disons que j'ai 9 espaces de travail 3 horizontalement et 3 verticalement.Par défaut, ubuntu commence par l'espace de travail en haut à gauche qui semble loufoque.Comment puis-je commencer par celle du milieu?


This is a nice idea. I don't know if there is a GUI way to do this (most probably, no), but you can use, for example, the following script at start up to make Ubuntu change to the top left workspace with the middle one:


#check if xdotool is installed
if [ ! -n "$(dpkg -s xdotool 2>/dev/null | grep 'Status: install ok installed')" ]; then
    echo -e "The package 'xdotool' must to be installed before to run $(basename $0)\nUse 'sudo apt-get install xdotool' command in terminal to install it."

xdotool key Ctrl+Alt+Right
xdotool key Ctrl+Alt+Down


An adaptation of Radu's answer. This will make a keyboard shortcut to switch directly to a certain workspace using a most likely unused key (XF86LaunchB).

  1. Run this command in a terminal:

    dconf write /org/gnome/desktop/wm/keybindings/switch-to-workspace-1 "['XF86LaunchB']"

    You can replace the number at the end of switch-to-workspace-1 with the workspace number (from 1 to 12)

  2. Install xdotool Install xdotool

    sudo apt-get install xdotool
  3. Add this command to your Startup Applications:

    xdotool key XF86LaunchB


First step:

Determine (learn) how to go to specific workspace using this.

Second step:

Add the command from previous step to the startup applications (commands), as described here.